Daily Archives: June 19, 2009

Conflicting points of view: where you see white, I see black.

Israel: Road map to nowhere.
Aijaz Zaka Syed (arab news)

Former US President Jimmy Carter is one of those rare birds who have retained their humanity even after four years in the world’s most powerful job. The architect of the first Arab-Israel peace accord was moved to tears when he visited the ruins of Gaza this week, comparing the condition of the Palestinians to “worse than animals.”

compared to:

Jimmy Carter’s Middle East Tour
Paul Kujawsky (examiner.com)

Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter is almost beyond understanding. He is trained in nuclear physics, yet when it comes to the Middle East, he’s no rocket scientist. A self-proclaimed champion of human rights, he invariably cozies up to dictators and thugs—no tyrant is too repulsive to embrace. Too intelligent and too experienced to be genuinely naïve, too consistent to be forgiven as erratic or bumbling, one can only conclude that he is driven by ideology. Like so much of the illiberal Left, Carter thoughtlessly favors the “small and weak” over the “big and strong,” instead of asking more pertinent questions of “right” or “wrong.” If a group portrays itself as the victim of “neo-colonialism,” “occupation,” or “racism,” Carter will take up its cause, no matter how vile its principles or conduct.

interesting…

8 Comments

Filed under Israel, News, Palestine

I am sorry…

gaza1-743448

I am sorry for…
all that I take for granted,
my peace and freedom.

I am sorry for…
moments I forget your pain,
the tears cried in vain.

I am sorry for…
all your hurt and suffering,
hunger and oppression.

But ‘sorry’ cannot
give you peace or dignity,
ease pain and dry tears.

And ‘sorry’ cannot
restore homes and families,
bring back loved ones lost.

And so we all watch
our world deteriorating,
our eyes shut, hands tied.

Our mouths open in
An endlessly silent cry:
“I am so sorry.”

…endless…

…silent…

…impotent…

Forgive me.

4 Comments

Filed under Palestine, Poetry

Adventures into the world of cleaning

Because my mom isn’t here, cleaning and laundry services have been delegated to yours truly. Crazy I know. What on earth are my dad and brothers thinking? I mean, I’m clean. In the sense that I like clean things. But I don’t know how to clean. So far, I’ve managed to ruin the laundry machine – it’s hello laundromat for the next little while – burn our kettle, and splatter the kitchen with hot oil. Fearing for the safety of his house, my dad took over the kitchen. I’ve gotten better though….

But the point of this post isn’t my complete lack of householdy abilities. The point of this is a shout out to my buddy, Mr. Clean. I vividly remember watching Mr. Clean commercials as a kid, and kind of falling in love with his reassuring yet daring presence. He had an earring! He was muscly! He came to the rescue!! He winked! All that and a lemony fresh scent!

But, as I was unexperienced in all matter of the household, the relationship was never actually sealed. Enter a desperate need to clean the showers/stove/oven/fridge and the magic eraser into the equation, and we have cemented our relationship!

As it turns out, my faith in Mr. Clean was not unfounded. The sparkly clean state of my tubs, showers, stove top, and oven are all due to that deceptively small brick of odorless foam. It is amazing. I am in love. Mad Mr. Clean Love going on <33

5 Comments

Filed under Canada, Personal