I am sorry…

gaza1-743448

I am sorry for…
all that I take for granted,
my peace and freedom.

I am sorry for…
moments I forget your pain,
the tears cried in vain.

I am sorry for…
all your hurt and suffering,
hunger and oppression.

But ‘sorry’ cannot
give you peace or dignity,
ease pain and dry tears.

And ‘sorry’ cannot
restore homes and families,
bring back loved ones lost.

And so we all watch
our world deteriorating,
our eyes shut, hands tied.

Our mouths open in
An endlessly silent cry:
“I am so sorry.”

…endless…

…silent…

…impotent…

Forgive me.

4 Comments

Filed under Palestine, Poetry

4 responses to “I am sorry…

  1. I hope this moves us all to do something for our families in need in Palestine…

    Well written, S&S.

  2. Ayesha

    Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi rajiuun

Leave a Reply

