A Piece of My Soul

Dark, sweet blood
Flows from my pen.
My only comfort
is this stream of solace:
red stains on white.
This lifeless entity
is a tolerant haven
providing comfort and succor
to my tormented soul.
Each letter is carefully formed,
exquisite pain, bittersweet pleasure.
Take this piece of me.
Guard it well.

Encrypted in it is my very essence, my soul,
my blood, my sweat, my tears.
My skin is open now,
flayed away from my bones.
I stand before you,
at your mercy.
But judge me not
by the words I say,
nor by the actions I commit.
Take me as I am
a tortured spirit.
Take this piece of me.
Guard it well.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal, Poetry, Reflections

One response to “A Piece of My Soul

  1. Ayesha

    🙂 Lovely, as always!

Leave a Reply

