During my jog today 02

I haven’t gone for about two weeks what with late nights studying, volunteering, and not being able to get up in the mornings, so today I said enough was enough. We didn’t wake up in the morning, so we went at around Maghrib time, which is about 9:20. I got my sweats on, my drink on (water bottle lol), filled up gas, picked up my jogging buddy and we were off down 69th like usual.

In the morning it’s quaint. Very little traffic, and all the other pedestrians are joggers who make a point to look you in the eye and smile a ‘hello.’ It’s a greeting, encouragement, and support all rolled into a flash of teeth. The world is waking and you’re witnessing it.

At night it’s a whole other world. That time of day is my favorite. A lot of people say sunrises are beautiful, alluding to fresh beginnings. But I’ve always been a sunset girl. Dusk is when I come to life, when the air fills with anticipation, the skies darken, the world comes to life in a dizzying array of colours. It’s fleeting though, close you’re eyes and open them and in that swift second the world has changed.

So there we were, collapsed on the curb  near my car in a parking lot, drinking water like it was going out of style, and discussing stand up comedians, of all things. When this car drives by twice, the first time zooming by, then slower for a closer look, with this white kid gaping at us. It parks a distance away, does  a U turn and comes in for one more go, this time outside the parking lot, on 69th. He leans out, screams a very eloquent “FUCK YOU,” and revs off.

By this time it’s full dark, and my friend was getting kind of antsy. It’s Sunday night and Calgary’s dead, or at least this area is. But why the hell should I?? Jugding by the look I got of the kid, he’s younger than I am! I was, quite literally,  here first and I’m not moving till I’m damn well good and ready to move!

After the spurt of anger, it was emptiness. These encounters, while rare, always leave me drained of hope. And soooo confused! Ugh.  I will never, ever understand racism or prejudice.

Alhamdulillah for the life I lead, which has taught me respect and tolerance above all else.

8 Comments

Filed under Canada, Head-Bangers, Ignorance, Islamophobia, Rant

8 responses to “During my jog today 02

  1. Ayesha

    One word, dear: HILLBILLY

  2. I agree with AYesha. Some of the time they’re not even looking for a target, they’re just looking for attention. Eff THEM!!

    Oh and sunsets, aye, me toO! *high five* 🙂 Smile now 🙂

  3. Aw, that’s sad. Some people just have so much hatred in their hearts that only bad things can come out. Ugh. We should pray for God to change their hearts.

    Sunsets are nice….I need to get outside because I think it’s about that time here! 🙂

    • Oh, I’m praying! And I really wish I could talk to them. Like honest to God talk, not ignorant ranting. Just to see why. Maybe if they realize their ignorance and prejudice they can overcome it?
      But, practically speaking, nothing is as deeprooted as prejudice. So maybe prayer is the way to go, lol. It’s all good =D

  4. sabiwabi

    Well, f%#$ him too!

    And keep up the jogging, it’s great for burning off stress from dealing with idiots like that.

    BTW, I prefer nightime runs to morning time….but I’ve always been a nocturnal girl.

Leave a Reply

