my dubious culinary skillz

So my culinary abilities are renowned. In the sense that I absolutely LACK any. If desperate, I could possible make something edible – in the sense that you won’t die afterwards from food poisoning. But enjoying any meal I may make is, unfortunately, out of the question. 

Coupled with my hectic and full schedule, my Dad – love him to death – has taken over the kitchen. But enough is enough – for both him and myself since all he makes is RICE *shudder* – and I decided to give it a go. I pulled up a recipe, went to Superstore and an hour in the kitchen later, it was good! Actually, it was better than good. It was excellent!!

I cooked some chicken chow mien and GOD was it amazing. 

So today I have off but tomorrow, I’m going to try my hand at honey garlic chicken.

Oh! And I actually snapped a photo. Yes, I’m that deliriously proud that I made something I enjoyed eating, rather than forced down my throat in a pitiful attempt to prove to my family that yes, it is edible and no, it won’t kill you! My dad found that hilarious. 

Chicken Chow Mien June 04 09Yumm! Me + Chinese food  = <33

I didn’t get to eat any till about 3 hours later though, since I had to give a lesson at the mosque that night! Very hungry teacher I was. And yes, I can see that the long beans are kind of burnt. But it’s only kind of, which is a VAST improvement on all previous attempts.

4 Comments

Filed under Family Matters, Food, Personal, The Halaqa

4 responses to “my dubious culinary skillz

  1. Ayesha

    Looks delicious! 😀

  2. Looks really tasty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

