Giving back

Now that I’ve finished bragging then, about the lesson. =P

Before we moved to Syria, my mum was the resident Muslimah Youth Group leader (was it YMC? Young Muslimahs of Calgary?). Anyway, I’m not just saying this because she’s my mom, but she was, hands down, one of the kindest, most compassionate, and articulate teachers I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. She changed my life. Actually, she’s pretty much an amazing woman period. Allah yerziha kel khair, inshAllah. 

Anyway, fast-forward about six years (I’m now in Syria) and I meet this other amazing lady. And I’m thinking to myself: for all you had it pretty shitty in CIS, things are going good these days! The topics are gripping, my faith is rising, and my life is now full of strong Muslim women I can learn from and hopefully emulate. And I realize that after, alhamdulillah, being the recipient of so many great lessons and advice, maybe it’s time a give back a bit.

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” – Mahatma Gandhi

I want to see unity, pride, understanding, cooperation, strength. So why not be the first step then, inshAllah?

So there was a sister giving Friday lessons in Calgary at the SW mosque, but she had to leave… right when I came. I already had a vague idea of starting a support group for young Muslim women. A sort of safety net, I guess. Or even a discussion group. A place where we were accepted, no questions asked, where we could grow and learn and cry and laugh and be ourselves. 

So this sister leaves and I suggest to a good friend of mine, Maria, that we do it. Each week we prepare something – doesn’t have to be perfect or long – and talk and discuss. So she said I should do it, and one thing led to another and I did! 

And it wasn’t, by any means, perfect. My tongue was tied, I made mistakes and umm made an extensive appearance that night, but I was so happy! I am so happy! If we can stick together, if we can unite, can you imagine how much stronger we would be? In our faith? In our lives???

Anyway, the reviews came back pretty positive, so I’ll be doing next week! Don’t tell them, but I’ve already prepared half of it, lol. Yes, I have that much to say. And now that I’ve managed to find people willing to listen, I’m not going to be shutting up anytime soon!

Spirituality

4 Comments

Filed under islam, Psychology, Queen of Sheba, Reflections, Syria, The Halaqa

4 responses to “Giving back

  1. Ayesha

    That’s so great, hon! It’s people like you that renew my faith in the Ummah every day 🙂

  2. Oh, I wish I could hear that lesson. I’m sure it will be a great one!

Leave a Reply

