The things we eat and drink…

For all you Red Bull drinkin’, Tim Hortons’ chili eatin’ people: listen up!!

Puttin’ the Coke in Coca Cola:

(The Canadian Press) BERLIN – Six German states have told retailers to stop selling Red Bull Cola energy drinks after a test found a trace amount of cocaine.

The bans started Friday after a sample test conducted by authorities in North Rhine-Westphalia state found 0.4 micrograms per litre in the drink.

Five other states also banned it from shops amid concerns over possible narcotics law violations.

Germany’s Federal Institute for Risk Assessment said Monday that the cocaine level was too low to pose a health risk. It planned to produce a more detailed report Wednesday.

Red Bull said its cola is “harmless and marketable in both the U.S. and Europe.” It said similar coca leaf extracts are used worldwide as flavouring, and a test it commissioned itself found no cocaine traces.

Notso Chillin Chili:

CALGARY (CBC) – A Calgary man who claims he crunched down on an insect while eating Tim Hortons chili says he is looking for an apology from the company.


“Things were going good until I heard a crunch sound in my mouth. And then I kind of gave it a chew again. But I thought that something was not right, and so I kind of spit the food back out. I looked down at it and I thought that I was seeing an insect, maybe I was just seeing things, but immediately I scrambled to the washroom and spit everything back out. I rinsed my mouth out,” Lee told CBC News on Tuesday.

He snapped photos and contacted Tim Hortons, which put him in touch with a regional manager.

Gross!!

On the topic of food and what it contains, it turns out the gum I’ve been buying ever since I got back – Trident Splash – has gelatin in it. =( So saddd I am. That’s one of the things I have to get used to again… checking the ingredients. No more Skittles for me!!! 

*sniff*

Which reminds me.. anyone know what the Kosher sign is?? Cause I’m down for that =D

6 Comments

Filed under Canada, Food, News

6 responses to “The things we eat and drink…

  1. Yes the Trident Splash had gelatin but the regular Trident is okay (you know the old package, the chewy ones, not those breathy mint hard ones).

  2. Oh I justnoticed the book you’re reading, do you like it so far? I read it and loved it 🙂

  3. Ayesha

    OH TIMMY’S, WHYYYYYYYYYYYYY HAVE YOU BETRAYED ME SO

    my relationship with Mr. Horton will never be the same. NEVER.

    ps. if the food’s packaging has a little ‘k’ all by itself on it somewhere, then it’s Kosher 😀 It’s come in handy for me, as well!

    • I know, eh?? Things will never be the same again =( it’s the beginning of the end of what once was a beautiful and lasting relationship. Or so I thought!!
      And thanks 😉 I’ll be on the lookout for it

  4. People here are SO torn about the Red Bull ban.

Leave a Reply

