WOTD: Froward

yesterday’s WOTD

froward \FROH-werd\, adjective:
not easily managed; contrary

When I first read this, I thought it read forward. Upon further scrutinization, I noticed the r and o were in all the wrong places. Reminds me of that messed up email:

Only great minds can read this: 
This is weird, but interesting! 
fi yuo cna raed tihs, yuo hvae a sgtrane mnid too 
Cna yuo raed tihs? Olny 55 plepoe out of 100 can. 

i cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg. The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno’t mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Azanmig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot slpeling was ipmorantt! if you can raed tihs forwrad it 

I doubt only 55 of 100 can read it, but seems like that’s the way our mind works. You don’t process individual letters so much as the general picture. Hmm. I remember something like that from my intro psych course, but my textbooks out right now.

I’m usually familiar with the WOTD, but this one’s new. Froward, eh? Well, unlike what I first thought it’s got nothing to do with how to ward off dem damn fros. Instead, picture a man. Any man’ll do really but a Syrian one’d be best. You’d be hard pressed to find a more fitting specimen. Ornery, obstinate, stubborn, froward males the lot of ’em.

Speaking of males, I can’t help but think of my poor, poor daddy. The man’s suffering. He’s convinced his dear daughter is with him for life. Till death do us part, only he’s pissed because this wasn’t what he’d signed up for it. And I’m not guessing. He’s pretty much said it straight out. But cut me some slack here! I’m working on it harder than he thinks. True, I’m working the avoidance front, but if he knew how much work that takes he wouldn’t be so quick to shrug off my efforts. Good God! I know for a fact that, were he in my shoes, he wouldn’t settle for another ornery, obstinate, stubborn, froward male. I already have him, four brothers, six uncles, and various male cousins whose opinions and actions I have to live with. And since I don’t really believe “pain is gain,” I’m not one to willingly add another to the mix. If an un -ornery, -obstinate, -stubborn, -froward guy were to show up, I’d consider it. Till then, consider me your personal burden Abu William.

6 Comments

Filed under WOTD

6 responses to “WOTD: Froward

  1. Ha, ha. 😀 Why is it that they think 20 is so old in Syria? My goodness! You are still a young woman!

  2. Tell me about it!! It’s hilarious. You should see them now that I’m leaving without getting engaged. It’s like I’ve personally insulted them, lol.

  3. Leaving? Did you say “leaving”? Where art thou going? (Unless I am being nosy…in that case, ignore me.)

  4. Yes I did!! *grin* and it feels so good to finally say it!
    I’m going back! Back to whence I came!! Back home!! Err.. which’d be Canada btw =D

  5. Oh, how interesting!!! Girl, you are full of surprises! 😀 Here I thought you were in love with Damascus and you were telling me all this good stuff and now you are going back to Canada! I guess you got tired of the marriage proposals. LOL! That WOULD get old! 😉 How soon are you returning? I bet Damascus will miss YOU! Best wishes on your move. I hope everything goes smoothly. Keep in touch as time allows. I miss your posts, but I’m sure you are busy.

    Admit it, the inferior footwear is what sent you packing, right? 😉

  6. LOOOL!! I DO too love Damascus! I just miss home really, really, really bad!!

    And you guessed it! It was so the proposals that pushed me over the age! That and the lack of snow all winter long. I can’t take it! All my friends were telling me tales of cars snowed in, snowboarding, snowmen, snow-everything and there I was: snowless. It’s enough to drive a woman crazy!!

    It’s not winter. It’s wrong and unnatural. I’ve been scarred.

    …not that I’ll make it in time to see any snow. But still. It’s a matter of principle =P

Leave a Reply

