WOTD: Denigrate

In my Social Studies junior course, my teacher had the habit of writing a word of the day and then using it in context with the day’s lesson. I picked it up and got in the habit of using words in context with my day. I dropped the habit sometime back, but was thinking it’s time I got back on it. So here it is. A Word Of The Day, generated by dictionary.com, and used in context with my day:

denigrate DEN-i-greyt, verb:
to attack the character or reputation of; defame

Horseman and I were discussing the unity of the Ummah and the lack thereof. He is, mashAllah, memorizing Quran and was mentioning how often he’d seen it mentioned that unity is key, like in “And hold fast, all of you together, to the Rope of Allah, and be not divided among yourselves.” Surah Aali-`Imraan [3:103] . So we got to talking about reality as it pertains to Syrians. A more disjointed and jealous bunch I’ve yet to meet. Like the hadeeth “none of you shall believe till he loves for his brother that which he loves for himself” is nothing more than lip service. Instead they feed off backbiting, denigration, lies, and gossip and thrive on the pain, failure, and suffering of others. When faced with all the blind animosity, it’s too easy to turn hurt into hate. But that’s the coward’s way out, right? Guess I’ll continue treating others the way I wish to be treated and hoping it rubs off on some one. InshAllah….

5 Comments

Filed under islam, Syria, WOTD

5 responses to “WOTD: Denigrate

  1. LOL I was getting the word of the day toooooooo! We are, like, sooooo cooL!

  2. Thanks for the reminder, I need to re-evaluate myself.

  3. Umm Travis – LOL! Great minds think alike 😉

    Nadia – You’re welcome! We all need it every once in a while =)

  4. I feel part of the reason why there is a lack of an Ummah is understanding of each other or rather the lack thereof. Sympathy, empathy and their variants are things that have become foreign to our people. Muslims tend to give lip service to the whole Ummah concept but fail to implement the necessary steps to maintain an Ummah. On the other hand, it seems very hard to unite a billion people, especially in the context of religion, especially when there is a “battle” of ideologies going on inside the religion itself. The whole concept behind an Ummah is something that is actually very complex.

    I am not familiar with Syrian or Arab society but backbiting and taking pleasure in the pain of others is not exclusive to your part of the world. Muslims and indeed the entire world suffers from such illnesses.

  5. Well said. It’s ironic how Prophets fought so hard for numbers, believing in the strength they represented, but now, when there are more muslims than ever before, we’re plagued with weakness and division. Ze Ironee kills me.

Leave a Reply

