Hark! the Winds of Change

The wind of change is blowing through this world. Whether we like it or not, this growth of global consciousness is a political fact. (adapted from Macmillan, slightly modified)

My job is to communicate the fact that the United States has a stake in the well-being of the Muslim world, that the language we use has to be a language of respect. I have Muslim members of my family. I have lived in Muslim countries.

My job to the Muslim world is to communicate that the Americans are not your enemy.

We’re going to follow through on our commitment for me to address the Muslim world from a Muslim capital. We are going to follow through on many of my commitments to do a more effective job of reaching out, listening, as well as speaking to the Muslim world.

 To the broader Muslim world what we are going to be offering is a hand of friendship. (source)

I emphasize: 

 “the language we use has to be a language of respect

That’s it. Dream fulfilled. I’ve lived to see the day respect was called for in favor of intolerance and the like (i.e. death, destruction, and debasing). And by none other than the president of the United States of America. The current one, that is. Not that oaf Bush. My point has been proven and, were it not for the multitudes who have yet to concede, I’d happily lay down my figurative pen, shut up, and call it a day. 

So admit it. Disrespect, stereotypes, and hate breed disrespect, stereotypes, and hate. 

Respect breeds resepct

*collective sounds of enlightenment*

Obama Super Awesome

6 Comments

Filed under islam, Islamophobia, News, Obamania

6 responses to “Hark! the Winds of Change

  1. GeekiSiddiqui

    Yay! =)

  2. Ayesha

    Subhanallah! :)!!!

  3. GeekiSiddiqui – That about sums it up =)

    Ayesha – Word 😛

  4. Ayesha

    Word to your mother ;D

  5. Ayesha – Word to your Umm 😉 LOOL

    Nadia – Ameen sister!

Leave a Reply

