An Israeli in Gaza

Here is an interview with one of the Free Gaza activists, Jeff Hapler. He is the author of the new book “An Israeli in Gaza” (which I can’t wait to get my hands on), one of the founders of the Israeli Committee Against House Demolitions (ICAHD), and Nobel Prize nominee, year of 2006. Great guy. I think you’ll find the interview very interesting and, if you happen to be fond of stereotypes, I think you’ll find Hapler does a wonderful job of proving you wrong =)

Enjoy! Oh and, a heartwarming picture, lest we forget. 

Words of inspiration from other passengers:

Huwaida Arraf’s, regarding the purpose of the Free Gaza movement:

We do this because we are horrified that this siege of 1.5 million men, women and children is allowed to continue. We are saddened for the state of our world when decision-makers can sit back and watch an entire people being slowly and purposefully starved and humiliated.

We know that with our two small boats we cannot open all of Gaza to the outside world. We could not bring with us the freedom of movement, access to jobs, medical care, food and other critical supplies that they are denied today. But we brought with us a message to the people of Gaza: they are not alone. With our successful journey we show them that American citizens and others from around the world have been moved to advance humanitarian principles and human rights. Our efforts this week are undertaken in that spirit and with the hope that our elected representatives will one day follow our example. 

And Yvonne Ridley. I’ve quoted her saying this before, but I can’t get enough of these lines – what she said to her worrying mother before leaving:

When the Holocaust was happening a lot of people around the world knew that atrocity against the Jewish people was taking place and yet they did nothing to stop the genocide. I was not around then, but even today there are those who still feel guilty because they sat back and did nothing. Well I am damned if I am going to sit back and do nothing as the slow genocide of Palestinians takes place in the world’s largest open air concentration camp known as Gaza. I do not wield the power or influence of Tony Blair or any of the Quartet leaders. I do not have the power to order the Israeli soldiers to carry out the jack-boot policies of the Zionist State they serve without question. 

But I do have a voice and with every breath I will shout out loud about the injustices against the Palestinians and in particular the people of Gaza. One day we will all be held to account over the biggest crime against humanity of the 21st century. My only defence will be “I did what I could.”

Thank you all. I hope we benefit from your example.

Leave a comment

Filed under Israel, News, Palestine, Reflections

Leave a Reply

