Hurl [(v.): to throw or fling with great force or vigor] & Duck [(v.): to avoid or evade a blow]

My dad: *walks laughing into my room* You see the news today? 
I’m, naturally, a bit confused – it’s been a long time, if ever, since seeing the news was associated with laughter. 
S&S: About what, exactly?
Dad: George Bush was holding a news conference in Iraq – 
S&S: – and someone pulled a Syrian and hurled a shoe at him?

Thanks to my daily dose of ATW, I already knew all about the shoe fiasco. 

CNN, with it’s knack for stating the obvious, ‘clarified’ the intentions behind Muntadhar al-Zaidi’s shoe throwing. In case you can’t work it out:

Hurling shoes at someone, or sitting so that the bottom of a shoe faces another person, is considered an insult among Muslims.

Because if I were to chuck my shoes at someone in Canada, it wouldn’t be insulting. It’d be the norm. Having a shoe hurled at your head is only insulting to Muslims. 

Some photos. (there’s a video on CNN and on ATW’s post

Credit has to be given to Bush though, a) for his mad reflexes and b) for, shockingly enough, responding cooly and appropriately 

“Let me talk about the guy throwing his shoe. It’s one way to gain attention…. that’s what happens in free societies where people try to draw attention to themselves.”

Free societies, eh?

And credit has to be given to Muntadhar al-Zaidi. Were it me, the shoe would have either hit the person in front of me or, on the off chance that there was enough force behind the throw to make it to the front of the room, Nuri al-Maliki. Seriously though, I hate to try and imagine the absolute desperation and anguish that leads someone to chuck their shoes at a president. Poor guy =(

I do have a question though: are the captions correct? I can barely understand Iraqi Arabic when it’s being spoken to my face – hearing it second hand off a video with sounds of screaming/yelling/scuffles and coming from a man who’s incoherent (or it is me?) doesn’t really help. But (supposedly?) he’s yelling: “This is a farewell kiss, you dog. This is from the widows, the orphans, and those who were killed in Iraq.”

9 Comments

Filed under Canada, Cultural Observations, Head-Bangers, News

9 responses to “Hurl [(v.): to throw or fling with great force or vigor] & Duck [(v.): to avoid or evade a blow]

  1. This is funny indeed.

    His reflexes shocked me too…I wouldn’t wanna play dodge-the-ball with THIS guy! I guess its the practice with dodging people’s questions that’s made him so good at it, LOL.

  2. Ayesha

    BAHAHA

    I love that. I read somewhere that Mr. Zaidi was actually kidnapped once.

    BTW, I’m Canadian (: Where in the country are you from?

  3. no2wars

    he he “misspecs” I totally agree.
    My friends messaged me to watch the news – “Did you see what happened to Bush?”
    I text’d back “If someone shot him then they should have done it 5 years ago” I repleid half jokingly.
    On Facebook support groups are flooding in for the Iraqi journalist who threw his shoes at Bush and someone suggested that we all place our shoes outside our nearest US embassy.
    Not a bad idea at all. Maybe we can turn it into a global movement.

  4. Specs – LOL!! Now that is witty.

    Ayesha – I read that too. For three days it seems, and he was tortured too =(
    I used to live in Calgary, Alberta. Home of the ’88 Olympics and the STAMMMPEEEDE!!!! *ahem* And you?

    no2wars – LOL!!! Well close… but no shoe =P
    I haven’t read anything about plans for local embassies, but I did see a few comments about tying shoes onto the White House’s fence, sending mass shipments of old shoes to the White House (The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20500 – just in case), and even pelting his departing car on the long awaited day he officially leaves (january 20th) with old shoes.
    Needless to say, should be interesting to see what happens 😉

  5. HAHA Misspecs. lol Yes he’s dodgeball champ don’tcha know? This was so funny, I watched the video over and over, but gotta hand it to him, good cat like reflexes.

  6. Caught it in the news and I was like “Whoa~”. There is no way I can dodge a flying shoe, let alone 2 shoes as I’d be stuck to my feet to make any move! The whole maneuver is a scream. 🙂

  7. Oh, and the local police has been interrogating Muntadhar al-Zaidi, whether someone had paid him to throw the shoes at the president. They examined his blood and urine for drugs. And they have kept the shoes as evidence.

    A lot of Iraqi people believe that al-Zaidi should be their next president.

  8. Mona – I miss dodgeball =(

    Hajar – LOOOL. Me neither. In either situation: I wouldn’t have been able to throw the shoe with that much force or accuracy, or dodge it so well =P

    Nadia – Yeah I heard about the examinations. A lot of people, those that are big on conspiracies, think it was staged by the Americans. I can’t really see the why though. I mean, it’s insulting. Why would someone want to be humiliated in front of the world? Odd…

  9. zKauwY Thanks for good post

Leave a Reply

