Look What You’ve Done

My screams echo
in the chambers of my lungs.
And I can’t seem to let go
of the restraints that bind my tongue.

And I would give my existence
to put to words my pain.
To fight the resistance
that completely binds my brain.

Look what you’ve done
you’ve finally broken me.
You’ve ended what hasn’t begun
you’ve bought me to my knees.

Tears blur my vision,
distorting your face.
Yet I can see with precision,
your fall from grace.

Behind my eyes it remains
imprinted on my heart.
Till your pain becomes my pain
and I can’t tell them apart.

Look what you’ve done
you’ve finally broken me.
You’ve ended what hasn’t begun
you’ve bought me to my knees.

Finally, sweet numbness
an instinctive attempt at protection.
Too late to be of any success
to even come close to my resurrection.

And so I’ll drag myself off and away
to the solitude of anonymity.
And I’ll lie here and peacefully decay
if you’ll just finally leave me.

Because I’m content to end what hasn’t begun
before the pain forces me to kneel
before I break and come undone
if it means this heart is finally free to heal.

So I choose for you to leave me
to leave untouched what little remains
While this heart still has a chance of beating
While I still have hope of living again.

3 Comments

Filed under Poetry

3 responses to “Look What You’ve Done

  1. and i love this even more than the one on top!!!

  2. Yay!!!
    This’s the second time I use a chorus, so I’m not too sure how I feel about that. But I thought it flowed well, overall.
    Thanks for the comments =)

  3. Pingback: Poetry Competition « Souvenirs and Scars

Leave a Reply

