The Great Eight, Syrian-style

So Nadia tagged me for the following:

THE RULES:

The McCains own 13 cars, eight homes and have access to a corporate jet. If you were as insanely rich as them, where wouldyour eight homes be and why?

The only rule is: The homes must be within the borders of the country you live in, so as to utterly emulate the McCains.

When you’re done, tag 8 people, so that they may join in the self-indulgence, forgetting about the crappy property market and the equivalent of The End of Pompeii on Wall-Street. You could spend your time hammering your doors and windows shut in preparation for the Apocalypse, but this meme is so much more fun!

Had she not specified Souvenirsandscars – SYRIA, I would have gone with Canada, or screwed the rules and done a my own multi-country thing. But she did, and so I don’t disappoint, here I go… (as a forewarning, Syria’s pretty much tiny so if all my places look alike.. remember: I tried!)

1) Old Damascus. As youve all probably noticed by now, I am insanely in love with the Old City. Right behind the Ummayyed Mosque would be nice, thanks!

K, currently this is the Azem Palace (Bone Palace) where they have a bunch of freaky mannequins enacting scenes from the past (like a glass blower!!) with a ton of gorgeous old furniture. The mannequins and the name have to go Im sorry, but Im cool with the furniture!!

#1) Old Damascus. As you’ve all probably noticed by now, I am insanely in love with the Old City. Right behind the Ummayyed Mosque would be nice, thanks! K, the second picture is currently the Azem Palace (Bone Palace) where they have a bunch of freaky mannequins enacting scenes from the past (like a glass blower!!) with a ton of gorgeous old furniture. The mannequins and the name have to go I’m sorry, but I’m cool with the furniture!! Oh, and the visits would have to stop.. 

2) Beautiful isnt it? This, this is Kasab. I love this place! Its high in the mountains, between Turkey and Syria and the air you breath there? After all the smut we breath daily, its purity burns your lungs!! Id want a nice little cottage in the Mts, over looking the stunning beach.

2) Beautiful isn’t it? This, this is Kasab. I love this place! It’s high in the mountains, between Turkey and Syria and the air you breath there? After all the smut we breath daily, its purity burns your lungs!! I want a nice, cozy cottage in the Mts, over looking the stunning beach.


3) Yes, it does snow in Syria! In one place in particular – the Zabadani. Beautiful greenery in the summer, perfect for skiing in the winter. So I’ll need a nice, cozy cottage with an operating gondola, so I can snowboard/ski my winters away. Oh, and a fireplace, and an unlimited supply of hot chocolate.

d

4) Bosra. The capital of the Roman Empire back in the days. I think spending a few months a year here would make quite the statement 😉

d

5) Ras Al Baseet. Like its name, Peak of the Simple, suggests this area puts some laid back r&r in mind. Even though it’s really close to Kasab, that one is all hiking and skiing. This on the other hand… a cool glass of lemonade and a good book.

6) Here’s Syria’s one and only mall. This is a tiny, tiny pic, which somehow makes it seem better and bigger than it really is :/. Anyways, your girl loves to shop, so a nice apartment across the street would be good. You know, to have a little breather so I don’t drop dead from shopping (that last line is laced with sarcasm; the damn thing is so tiny and expensive!!) But I guess if I can afford eight houses, I can afford to shop practically anywhere.. but for Syria, this is ‘high end.’

7) The Waterwheels of Hama. I don’t know how this is going to work out exactly, but they’re just so pretty! I need a small (yea.. riiiight) cottage thing near them. 

8 ) Although seriously overshadowed by the magnificent Citadel of Aleppo, Saladin’s (or Salah Al Deen) Citadel is still breathtaking. The state it’s currently in is beyond grievous but, hey, I can do a little restoration in my free time. And in the mean time, maybe the spirit of Saladin will rub off on me 🙂

That went by so quickly!! And I have so much more to add. I still haven’t gotten to Slenfeh, Homs, Daratiyeh… or any of the new places in Syria. Hope you enjoyed!!

And it’s an open ended tag since this has been going on for quite some time and most of you have done it! Enjoy =D

9 Comments

Filed under Canada, Only in Syria, Syria, Tags

9 responses to “The Great Eight, Syrian-style

  1. mamamona

    Wow, I’m impressed at how well you know Syria.

  2. Yeah.. I’ve gotten to know it pretty well. But you wouldn’t believe I’ve never even been to Palmyra. It’s crazy. Every time we make plans to go up there, something comes up..
    But I’m insanely jealous (MashAllah)!! I mean Egypt? WOW. It must be amazing being there.. I’ve been begging my parents to take a trip up there, but it never works out either 😦

    Yallah, inshallah soon 🙂

  3. Pingback: Syria » Mosaic News - 11/05/08: World News From The Middle East

  4. Pretty impressive, sis! I love ALL of the pictures you’ve put up there, but my favorites would be Bosra and Ras al Baseet 🙂

    I’ve learned so much from this post alone. I never knew, for instance, that there’s only one mall in Syria 😉 Or that it snows there.

    Thanks for sharing Syria with us, and thank you for playing this tag 🙂

  5. Thanks for the tag Nadia 😉
    It turned out to be really interesting!!
    And glad I could help =)

  6. dd

    there’s more than one mall in Syria (one in Kafer Sousseh, one in Mezzeh Gabal, and I recall one in the center of damascus, its name escapes me), but I didn’t know it snowed enough so that you could Ski in Syria!! Perhaps I’ll bring my skis next time. Please provide info on where in Zsbadani I could hit the slopes.

  7. Sorry that was my bad. It was supposed to read in Damascus, definitely not Syria.
    The one I showed is the one in Kafersousseh. The one in Mezzeh Gabal I went by last week.. hardly a mall, in my opinion :/. And the one in the center of Damascus, I’ve never been to :S. You remember the name/exact location??

    And I can’t believe you’ve never seen how high Syrian snow can get!! We’ve never skied ourselves (I plan on giving it a try this winter if the snows up for it inshAllah) but we’ve been up to Bloudan and the Zabandani and the snows pretty high and packed! Good for skiing… or some snowboarding, which I prefer 😉

  8. dd

    OK –

    I believe these are the three malls after some googling:
    City Mall (Mezzeh Jabal)
    Sham City Center Mall (Kafer Sousseh)
    Sham Town Center (???)

    It’s the Town Center that’s the third mall, where is it, not sure exactly, but it appears on Google Maps.

    Regarding Skiing and Snowboarding – Snowboarding is not for the faint of heart. In fact, that’s what I started on – and I’m now going to learn how to ski instead. Snowboarding is fun if you know what your doing, but the learning process is painful—at least that’s been my experience. I may give it another go considering I bought a friggin snowboard but I’ve had my share of spectacular falls and accidents. When you fall snowboarding – you go flying down the hill and get spun around if the board catches the ground. I was watching the skiers, they seem to have far greater control and their falls are much less dramatic.

  9. Regarding snowboarding – No doubt. Trust me, I’m not about to forget the pain from the first time I snowboarded either… or the few times after that actually. EXTREMELY painful experience!! But once you get the hang of it it’s amazing. I’ve sworn if I ever get back to Canada to snowboard the winters away…

    Now, about the malls. The town center is another mall, but it’s located someways outside of Damascus.. on the way to Sahnaya if you’ve ever been. I still don’t know about the City Mall :/ No, I don’t think so. Not a mall. Maybe in some sense.. but hey, if decades after they classified Pluto as a planet they decided to take away its planet status, maybe there’s hope they’ll figure out these malls just aren’t 😛
    LOL geeeek!!
    Enjoy 😉

Leave a Reply

