Freshh Like UH

Does anyone here remember Fresh Prince of Bel-Air? Will Smith as Will Smith?

God. Humor at its finest. From way back when I was a kid down in Philly, I remember watching this show. And then up till about 12 I think, when they finally took it off the air for ‘newer’ shows. 

Those were the good old days. When humor was ‘clean’ and showing your ass on TV wasn’t referred to as ‘comic nudity.’ When, if they had a sex scene, it was alluded to, rather than straight-out, in-your-face on TV.

Is it just me? It is wrong that, no, I don’t think seeing anyone’s ass in any context is funny? 

I could write more, I don’t think I’ve really given this post it’s due, but we all know what’s up. And at the risk of sounding like some withered old fogy:

  • NO, I do not appreciate your lewd, indecent, and demoralizing lyrics. 
  • NO, I don’t want to see your ass, etc on TV or in my movies. It’s not funny.
  • YES, I do still think sex scenes should be kept private. Not on my Goddamned TV.
  • YES, I do want to see a return to CLEAN humor

So please?? Seriously. It was funnier way back then.

4 Comments

Filed under Canada, Head-Bangers, islam, Lyrics, Movies, Rant, Reflections

4 responses to “Freshh Like UH

  1. “Now, this is a story all about how my life got flipped-turned upside down….” Oops sorry I got lost there for a minute!

    It still shows here on show comedy and I sing a long every time. My kids think I’m weird.

    Anyway I agree, Its all too much with the gratuitous nudity and lewd scenes. It’s not comedy, but I thought it might be interesting to see what the big deal was about that show “Big Love” and I was horrified when accosted by Bill Paxton’s rear view in a scene I’d like washed from my memory.

    Let’s all do the Carlton dance and forget it all!

  2. Hear Hear! I’m with you.

    P.S. Loved the show. I wonder if kids these days have even heard of it :/ I feel Old.

  3. Mamamona – “And I liked to take a minute, just sit right there, I’ll tell you how I became the prince of a town called BelAir” ba rup ba bah!

    LOL. Lucky lucky getting to watch good ol’ Will in FP 😉
    My ‘ass in your face’ story was during Wild Hogs. Thankfully, my brother was at school, so I screened it the next day while he was watching it. But seriously!! That would have made a good family movie.

    Meow – OMG. We are so getting old. I feel like I’m ancient when I meet people that are 12 or 13 and I tell them “OMG! I remember when you were *this* high (gestures at around three feet off the floor).” Yeah, I should really stop.

  4. I know. I hate it when a good movie, otherwise appropriate for family viewing is ruining by an ass in your face or other equally asinine display of lewdness.

Leave a Reply

