Gratitude

 

Narrated Abu Huraira:

The Prophet said, “The Imam is to be followed. Say the Takbir when he says it; bow if he bows; if he says ‘Sami a-l-lahu Liman hamida’, say, ‘Rabbana wa-laka-l-hamd’, prostrate if he prostrates and pray sitting altogether if he prays sitting.”

The other day I was reflecting on complaints and how easily they roll off our tongues, when it occurred to me that in each prayer we say such powerful words, words by which we should live our lives, words we should not be deaf to if only we choose to listen:

The Imam says: “Sami allahu liman hamida” —> God hears him who praises Him

And we reply: “Rabbana wa lakal hamd” —> to Thee is due all praise.

The beginning of every rukkah in prayer starts with:

Alhamdulillahi Rab al 3alameen.” 

So with God so clearly giving us little hints and nudges to thank Him, in return for which He will increase our wealth, health, and happiness, do we still choose to remain deaf and silent?

Dear Rabb al 3alameen,

I’ve realized recently that I’ve been acting very ignorant. I’ve been living, breathing, being Your blessing without thanking You for all You have chosen to give me. Forgive me, ya Rahman, for the words I said in ignorance, and accept these, and millions others, inshaAllah, as both penance and gratitude:

Alhamdulillah for the 3+ full meals a day I eat. 
Alhamdulillah for my health.
Alhamdulillah for my famliy.
Alhamdulillah for the safety in which I live.
Alhamdulillah for the roof over my head and bed on which I sleep.
Alhamdulillah for the many blessings you have bestowed upon me. Both those I realize and those of which I remain ignorant.

Thank you, ya Kareem… 

With love,

S&S

3 Comments

Filed under islam, Reflections

3 responses to “Gratitude

  1. Last night I came home and dinner wasn’t ready…
    I remembered your post, and ate leftovers 🙂
    Jazakillahu khairan 🙂

  2. souvenirsandscars

    ATW – Wa iyakum, inshAllah. I hope those are tears of gratitude? 😉

    hiddensouls – Wa iyakum, inshAllah. ALhamidulillah. It’s nice to have little reminders to help us, eh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

